Arts and our youth…

Welcome to December and I hope you plan on making it a December to remember! I have that thought in mind as we look towards the last 31 days of 2015. 2016 will be here before you know it so it is time to plant some seeds so they can begin to germinate soon.

One of the great things I love and am passionate about is my fondness for art and youth. It’s a blessing that I get to combine those two with my current position at the MCSO as the Adolescent Program Manager for Youthful Offenders. Working with youth in detention is not easy but when you have the resources and an avid staff that is open to trying new things, you can get results.

One of the things we have been trying is art therapy and art exposure in the jails. Through a partnership with The Bechtler Museum [disclaimer: I am on the Board of Directors], we bring in artists in residency to teach the kids about art and how it can be useful or profitable in their lives.

I want to thank Charlotte Magazine for this great piece on my work in the community and how we can all affect the kids who need help! The link is below so please enjoy and let me know what you think.

http://www.charlottemagazine.com/Charlotte-Magazine/December-2015/Style-Arts-Leader-Keith-Cradle/

Cheers.

Keith Cradle

Leave a Reply

