Travel Day…

photo

Good Afternoon and Welcome to the first day of fall/autumn!

Fall is such a great time when the weather begins to change, the leaves start to turn colors and fashion finds warmth in layering. I am such a huge proponent of the fall season but I will miss summer. But with each ending there is a new beginning!

Today’s post is entitled, “Travel Day…” and it sums up my experience on Sunday of having to travel to Indianapolis, IN from Charlotte, NC to attend a conference this week. While the conference isn’t what’s important it was the actual travel time that is. In sports, as teams move from one city to another to play their next opponent, there is thrown in what is called a “travel day.” The travel day allows for the team to leave the place of origination and arrive in the place of destination without rushing or being too tired to play the next night.

My “travel day” consisted of pretty much the same. The conference started today but I was flown in on Sunday afternoon. I wasn’t rushed, in case anything went wrong I would have time to make adjustments and I got enough sleep last night to feel totally fresh for today. So you’re probably asking yourself what does that have to do with me and my nonprofit…[if not, go ahead and ask yourself! LOL]

Just like me and my travel day, you should have a “travel day” to sit back and assess where your organization is going. Where is the point of origination and what is our destination? What will you need to pack in order to get there? How long will it take us to get there? Who will be in charge of the itinerary? All of these questions and more should be in your strategic plan.

If you don’t have a strategic plan, I suggest creating one or investing in the creation of one. An organization cannot know where it is going if there is no solid direction. Consequently, when the “travel day” arrives, you won’t have a clue where to head or what to do next…

Have a great start to Fall!

Cheers.

Keith Cradle

Leave a Reply

